Going Home

Today, for the first time this semester, I’ll be going home.  I haven’t seen my family in person in about 2 and a half months.  I’ve talked to them, texted them, and communicated through Facebook, but I haven’t actually seen them for quite a while.  This is one of the strangest parts of being away at college.  For the first 18 years of my life, I saw these people every day, and now I only talk to them every so often and go for months without seeing them.  It’s kind of weird and I never realize how much I’ve missed my family until I see them again.  I’m actually incredibly excited to see them all.  Even though I’m nearly 20, I still miss my mom.

I’ve also lived right near Chicago for most of my life and the city’s been a big part of my life.  I don’t end up going downtown too often, but it’s always been comforting to know that if I really wanted, I could go down to the city for an adventure.  In high school, my friends and I really enjoyed taking the train down to the city and walking around the loop, visiting some museums, or just chilling in millenium park.  There’s always something interesting to do down there, and I really love getting out of the sleepy, organized suburbs and visiting the city.  It just seems so alive down there.

Also… Kanye’s from Chicago, too… and that’s pretty cool.

Leave a Reply

