Faking It: Cable Knit Scarf

Something about winter makes scarves, especially knitted scarves, absolutely irresistible to me.  Wrapping myself up in a warm, wooly knit scarf makes going out in the cold almost enjoyable.  When I go into shops, I often head straight for the accessory section and start trying on the scarves, but I never buy them because I know how to knit.  I’m not a pro or anything, but I just can’t bring myself to buy something that I could make myself.

Most of the time, I don’t actually end up making the scarf that I want, but occasionally I find myself with enough time to buy yarn and start a new project.

I’ve been eyeing this scarf from urban outfitters for a while now.  It’s really soft and cozy and warm… basically everything I might ever want in a scarf, but I haven’t bought it because it’s a pretty simple pattern and I could easily knit it myself.

BDG Cable Knit Scarf in Grey, Ivory, and Purple: Urban Outfitters

However, because I’m currently on winter break and have an abundance of free time (which I should probably be using to apply for internships for the summer…), I decided to actually trek out to Joann Fabrics and buy some yarn.  I found a bulky weight wool/acrylic blend yarn that’s nice and soft, and I started putting together a pattern.  It’s actually incredibly simple and is going pretty quickly.  Here’s my progress so far:

The pattern that I made up goes something like this:

Materials:  2-3 balls Bernat Roving Yarn (or something like it) and size 10 1/2 straight knitting needles

Gauge:  Does anyone actually care about the gauge?  I usually just YOLO it

Instructions:

1.  Cast on 30 stitches

2.  Knit 1, Purl 1 for the first 7, then knit 16 stitches, then K1,P1 for the last 7

3.  K1P1 for the first 7, purl 16 stitches, then K1,P1 for the last 7

4-7.  Repeat steps 1 and 2

8.  K,1P1 for the first 7, put 4 stitches onto a cable needle (spare circular needles work pretty well too) and pull to back.  K4, then knit the 4 stitches off the cable needle/circular needle.  Put the next 4 stitches on the cable needle and pull to the front, then K4.  Knit the 4 stitches off the cable needle, then K1,P1 for the rest of the row.

9.  K1,P1 for the first 7, purl 16 stitches, then K1,P1 for the last 7

10.  Repeat steps 2-9 for the rest of the scarf and cast off.

11.  I’m going to add tassels to mine eventually, but I haven’t gotten there yet…

TADA.  That’s about it.  Pretty simple, huh?

Leave a Reply

